Compare
NALA vs NFPA: Which Paralegal Certification Should You Take?
NALA and NFPA are the two national bodies that certify paralegals in the United States, and they run different exams: NALA's CP is a 120-item Knowledge Exam plus a single-essay Skills Exam; NFPA's CRP and RP are multiple-choice exams of 125 and 200 items. Here is who issues what, how the shapes differ, and five questions that settle the choice.
The two associations and their four credentials
NALA — the National Association of Legal Assistants — has run a national paralegal credential since 1976. It started as the CLA (Certified Legal Assistant); NALA registered the CP mark in 2004, and the program is now the Certified Paralegal Program. The CP has been NCCA-accredited since 2014, and NALA reported 6,665 active CPs in August 2026. Above the CP sits the ACP, the Advanced Certified Paralegal.
NFPA — the National Federation of Paralegal Associations — is a federation of local and state paralegal associations, and it issues two credentials of its own. Pass the PCCE (Paralegal CORE Competency Exam) and you may use CRP, CORE Registered Paralegal. Pass the PACE (Paralegal Advanced Competency Exam) and you may use RP, Registered Paralegal. NFPA's own FAQ describes the PCCE as the credential that shows your education has prepared you for paralegal work, and the PACE as the one for candidates with a comprehensive education and years of practice.
So the map has four rungs on two ladders, not two rival exams: CP and CRP at entry level, ACP and RP above them. This page covers NALA's credential in detail — it is the exam this site prepares you for — and the NFPA side only as far as NFPA publishes it.
Side by side: what each credential asks of you
The CP column comes from NALA's 2026 CP Program Handbook; the NFPA columns from the application, renewal and FAQ pages on paralegals.org as published in 2026. Where NFPA does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| NALA CP | NFPA CRP | NFPA RP | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Issued by | NALA (National Association of Legal Assistants) | NFPA (National Federation of Paralegal Associations) | NFPA |
| Exam | Knowledge Exam + Skills Exam | PCCE (Paralegal CORE Competency Exam) | PACE (Paralegal Advanced Competency Exam) |
| Format | 120 multiple-choice items presented, 100 scored + 20 unscored pretest, 3 hours; then one typed essay, 2 hours | 125 multiple-choice items, about 2.5 hours | 200 multiple-choice items, about 4 hours |
| Essay | Yes — the Skills Exam is a single essay, onsite only, offered in February, April, July and October | No essay stated | No essay stated |
| Delivery | Prometric, on demand year-round; Knowledge Exam onsite or remote, Skills Exam onsite | Prometric, rolling year-round, onsite or remote | Prometric, rolling year-round, onsite or remote |
| Eligibility shape | Three categories: paralegal program; bachelor's in any field + 1 year or 15 substantive credit hours; or high school + 5 years + 20 CLE hours | Education plus verified substantive paralegal experience; pathway grid on paralegals.org | Education plus more years of verified substantive experience; pathway grid on paralegals.org |
| Application fee (2026) | $325 member / $375 non-member (2026 Handbook), plus a testing-center fee | $300 member / $325 non-member | $325 member / $350 non-member |
| Retake | 3 attempts per exam within 365 days, 90-day wait, $150 per retake (2026) | After 30 days, $150 within 2 years | After 30 days, $150 within 2 years |
| Scoring | Pass/fail; cut score set by a modified-Angoff panel and not published | Pass/fail; official result in the next monthly scoring run | Pass/fail; official result in the next monthly scoring run |
| Renewal | Every 5 years: 50 CLE hours including 5 in ethics | Every 2 years: 8 CLE hours including 1 ethics + 1 DEI | Every 2 years: 12 CLE hours including 1 ethics + 1 DEI |
| Accreditation | NCCA-accredited since 2014 | Not stated on the pages checked | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Practice material from the issuer | None endorsed; NALA's Certifying Board approves no study materials | Study manual and a review course; NFPA states it offers no practice exam | Study manual and a review course; NFPA states it offers no practice exam |
| Next rung | ACP (Advanced Certified Paralegal) | RP, by sitting the PACE | — |
| Sources | 2026 CP Program Handbook and nala.org | paralegals.org, 2026 | paralegals.org, 2026 |
Three rows decide most people's choice. The essay: the CP is the only one of the three with a written component — after the 120-item Knowledge Exam comes a separate 2-hour Skills Exam, one typed essay, onsite, in one of four testing months. The experience requirement: NFPA's FAQ says that without substantive paralegal work experience you are not eligible for either of its exams, while NALA's first eligibility category admits a paralegal-program graduate with none. The renewal rhythm: 50 CLE hours every 5 years for the CP; 8 (CRP) or 12 (RP) hours every 2 years for NFPA — roughly 100 hours a decade against 40 to 60.
Which certification is 'most recognized'?
Neither credential is a license, so 'recognized' means 'noticed by the people hiring in your market' — regional and employer-specific. The measurable facts: NALA's is the older program, the larger one by active holders (6,665 in August 2026), and NCCA-accredited. NFPA's credentials are backed by a federation of local associations, which counts in cities where that association is the hiring network. Neither body publishes a comparison, and this site will not invent one. If you searched for the 'best paralegal certification', replace the ranking with four checks you can run in an afternoon:
- Open five job postings for the role you want in your city and count which credential names appear — and how often 'CP or RP' appears together.
- Ask your local paralegal association which national body it belongs to — that is usually the credential its members hold.
- Check eligibility today, not in two years: NALA's Category 1 needs no work experience; NFPA's exams need verified substantive experience.
- Price the ten-year cost, not the entry fee: renewal cadence and CLE hours differ more than the application fees do.
Recognition is not a property of the certificate. It is a property of the ten people in your market who read résumés — so count what they ask for.
NALA's ladder: CP, then ACP
If you choose NALA, the route has two rungs. The CP comes first: prove eligibility under one of three categories, pass the Knowledge Exam (120 items presented, 100 scored and 20 unscored pretest, 3 hours, on demand at Prometric onsite or remote), then pass the Skills Exam (one essay, 2 hours, onsite, in February, April, July or October). Both are pass/fail, and NALA does not publish the cut score. The ten Knowledge Exam domains and their weights are laid out in the study guide; the step-by-step route covers the application itself.
The ACP — Advanced Certified Paralegal — comes after. It is NALA's specialty credential for paralegals who already hold the CP, earned through NALA's Advanced Certified Paralegal coursework rather than a second Knowledge Exam. Two things to know now: there is no ACP without the CP, and NALA counts ACP coursework toward the 50 CLE hours a CP needs every 5 years, so the advanced rung and your recertification can share hours. The specialty list is NALA's to publish; check nala.org rather than a third-party course list.
The third option: state certification
A handful of states run their own voluntary paralegal certification or registration schemes, usually through the state bar — Florida, North Carolina, Texas, Ohio and South Carolina are the ones candidates ask about most. None is a license: NFPA's own certification page states that no state has paralegal licensure. A state credential makes sense when you intend to stay in that state, and NALA's Handbook awards CLE hours for passing a state or other eligible certification exam. Whether you need any credential at all is a separate question; the how-to route shows where a state program fits after the CP.
The ABA does not certify paralegals
There is no 'ABA paralegal certification exam'. The American Bar Association approves paralegal education programs; it examines and certifies nobody, so 'ABA-approved' describes a school. For NALA's exam it matters only inside eligibility Category 1, where an ABA-approved program is one of five qualifying routes — an associate degree, a post-baccalaureate certificate, a bachelor's in paralegal studies or a 60-semester-hour program with 15 substantive legal hours also qualify — and Categories 2 and 3 need no paralegal program at all. NFPA likewise accepts ABA-approved and AAfPE-member programs for its pathways: again a fact about your school, not a credential the ABA issues.
Decide in five questions
Work down the list; stop at the first answer that points somewhere.
Do you have verified substantive paralegal experience today?
If no, NFPA's exams are closed to you for now — its FAQ says so. If you have graduated from, or are in the last semester of, a paralegal program, NALA's Category 1 is open. That alone decides it for most new graduates.
Which credential do the postings in your city name?
Five postings, one count. If 'CP' leads, take the CP. If 'RP' leads and you have the experience, take the PACE. If they say 'CP or RP', go to question 3.
Can you write a 2-hour legal essay under exam conditions?
The CP's Skills Exam is one typed essay, graded on legal writing and critical thinking. If writing is a strength, that is a differentiator in your favor; if it is a gap you cannot budget three months to close, NFPA's multiple-choice format is the practical route — provided you clear question 1.
Which renewal rhythm will you actually keep?
50 CLE hours every 5 years (NALA) suits people who batch; 8 or 12 hours every 2 years (CRP / RP) suits people who prefer small, frequent obligations. Pick the cadence that matches how you already handle deadlines — a lapsed credential helps nobody.
Is a local or state credential the better first step?
If you will stay in a state with its own program and the postings name it, that may be the first rung, with a national credential later. Otherwise: CP if question 1 or 2 pointed there, NFPA if experience and postings point there, and neither yet if you are still in a program with a year to go — in which case start with the free Knowledge Exam question set and let the domain scores tell you how far off you are.
Questions people ask about NALA and NFPA
What is the most recognized paralegal certification?
There is no single answer: no state licenses paralegals and no employer body ranks the credentials. NALA's CP is the older program (since 1976 as the CLA) and the larger one by active holders — 6,665 in August 2026 — with NCCA accreditation since 2014. NFPA's RP and CRP are recognized through NFPA's member associations. Which one your market recognizes is a question for five job postings and one local association, not a national ranking.
What are the two major national paralegal associations?
NALA, the National Association of Legal Assistants, which issues the CP and ACP credentials; and NFPA, the National Federation of Paralegal Associations, which issues the CRP (via the PCCE) and the RP (via PACE). Both are voluntary programs run by membership organizations.
What is an Advanced Certified Paralegal?
ACP is NALA's post-CP credential. You earn it by completing NALA's Advanced Certified Paralegal coursework in a specialty area after you already hold the CP; NALA also counts ACP coursework toward the CLE hours a CP needs to recertify. It sits one rung up the same ladder, not beside it.
What is the highest level of paralegal certification?
On NALA's ladder, the ACP, which requires the CP first. On NFPA's, the RP (via the PACE, 200 multiple-choice items), positioned above the CRP for paralegals with both education and years of experience. The ladders do not cross: an RP does not shorten the route to a CP or the reverse.
Is there an ABA paralegal certification exam?
No. The American Bar Association approves paralegal education programs; it does not examine or certify individual paralegals. 'ABA-approved' on a diploma describes the school. For the CP it is one of several routes inside the first eligibility category, not a requirement.
Is the CLA a different certification from the CP?
No. CLA (Certified Legal Assistant) is the legacy name of the same NALA credential; NALA registered the CP mark in 2004. A page listing CLA, CP and RP as three options is describing two credentials, one of them twice.